top of page


Photo Credit: Reuters

Two types of IAS Awards 


IAS Medal

Awarded to researchers for an outstanding record of published contributions to abalone research


Life Membership

Awarded to those who have made extensive contributions to areas such as abalone research, the abalone industry, abalone aquaculture. 


2018  Guofan Zhang - IAS Medal
2015  Caihuan Ke - IAS Medal
2015  Laura Rogers-Bennett - IAS Life Membership
2012  Rodney Roberts - IAS Medal 
2012  Peter Britz - IAS Medal
2012  Dr. Mia J. Tegner - IAS Life Membership
2012  Sergio Guzmán del Próo - IAS Life Membership
2012  Peter Cook - IAS Life Membership 
2006  John McMullen - IAS Life Membership
2006  Tomohiko Kawamura - IAS Medal
2006  Daniel Morse - IAS Medal 
2003  Robert Day - IAS Medal
2003  Ricardo Searcy-Bernal - IAS Medal
2000  Zong Qing Nie - IAS Life Membership
1997  Martín Ortíz-Quintanilla - IAS Life Membership
1997  Nagahisa Uki - IAS Life Membership
1997  Scoresby Shepherd - IAS Life Membership  

Awards shall be made only at an International Abalone Symposium (normally held triennially).
Decisions on IAS awards shall be made by an IAS Awards Committee, comprising the President, the Vice President, any Past-Presidents who are still active, and the Secretary.


(Note: where any of the IAS Awards Committee are themselves a candidate for an IAS award, that person shall withdraw from the committee and the President, after consultation with the other committee members, shall appoint a replacement for that member).

Award Nomination Guidelines 


In good time, before an international symposium, the Secretary shall seek, from the membership of IAS, nominations for the above awards via the web, list server, or by notice to country representatives of the international committee of IAS. Notices to members must include a closing date for nominations. Nominations may be sent to the Secretary directly, or via a country representative, and shall include a statement outlining the suitability of the candidate for the award for which the nominee is nominated, and a CV containing all relevant information for such award.
The Secretary shall verify with country representatives (or other persons as he/ she considers appropriate) that the nominations contain all relevant information and shall forward the nominations to members of the Awards Committee.

The Awards Committee shall consider the nominations, taking into account, in the case of publications, their significance and impact, and shall make recommendations to the President.

The Awards Committee may recommend up to two awards in each category, but may decide to make no recommendation.

Should the Awards Committee not be able to reach consensus on the awards, the President shall retain a casting vote on both categories of award.

The awards will be duly made at the next International Abalone Symposium.

bottom of page